Why become a member? ×

Too quiet - turn up the volume?

Bobthedog

I have been playing now for a couple of years but am still seeing a weekly tutor to get me through my grade exams. One of my "features" according to my tutor is that I play too quietly. He wants me to dig in a lot more to bring the volume up from my fingers. If I do that I lose any finger speed. I tense up with any volume, but staying relaxed means playing relatively quietly to get the speed and tone.

I am sure my tutor is right but why can I not just turn the amp up? I am never going to play in big stadia or with huge great bands but do have my 1000w Glock and as of this coming Friday a Barefaced Big Twin II.

When I sold one of my RS212 cabs recently the guy that bought it played each of my basses and was materially louder than I am without any more apparent effort and without changing the amp settings.

What is the secret and what is wrong with just turning the amp up?

It depends, perhaps, on what you want your teacher to teach you..? If it's [i]his [/i]goal to have you 'dig in' more, then discuss it with him, and maybe change teacher. If you've asked him how to play like [[i]Insert appropriate bass god here...[/i]], then maybe try it out and see if it gets you where [i]you [/i]want to go..?
In general, it's recommended practise to turn the amp up and use a lighter touch, letting the amp do the work, but that doesn't suite all styles.

Edited by Dad3353

Yeah, I'm not sure it should be a target to play harder unless there's a particular reason. The majority of players whose playing I have admired in person actually have a very light touch and I often wish my style was lighter, so don't be in a rush to hit the thing!

None other than jazz-fusion great, Gary Willis, is a huge advocate of light touch. Each to their own and, as you say, there is always the gain/volume control on one's amplifier for those who play lightly.