Why become a member? ×

recording setup

fiatcoupe432

Hello everyone, so......
i'm new to this and can't figure out the best way to setup a little studio .....
I have a new macbook logic x . my question is...... i want to keep my laptop free of plugins , vst instrument and recorded session . How do i set it up to so all the above goes on an external hard drive?
thanx
Antoin

Getting the audio files to go onto an external hard drive is easy simply save the Logic session file onto the hard drive and ensure that the recording path is set to the same folder.

Getting the plugins and VST instruments on an external drive only is more complicated as their default location is in the Library folder of your system drive. It might be possible to move them using aliases, but it will be doubtful if its ever 100% reliable especially with anything that has copy protection.

If you really have to have all your music stuff on the external drive it might be better to create a full system install on that drive just for music and boot from there when you need to do any recording.

Edited by BigRedX

i don't know how it works on mac, but on windows it saves the VST file in a file called VST's.

i just move these to which ever location i want, and then in the DAW just point it to search for VST's in that folder. only issue ive had with that is that sometimes the pc will reassign the external hdd a new ID (eg K drive instead of L drive) when i reconnect it.

[quote name='RockfordStone' timestamp='1463570015' post='3052383']
i don't know how it works on mac, but on windows it saves the VST file in a file called VST's.

i just move these to which ever location i want, and then in the DAW just point it to search for VST's in that folder. only issue ive had with that is that sometimes the pc will reassign the external hdd a new ID (eg K drive instead of L drive) when i reconnect it.
[/quote]