Why become a member? ×

Fender QC.

AlpherMako4

If you mean the American stuff then I think they have. I've played Fenders since I started playing in '96 - my 2013 American Standard Jazz 4 and 2014 American Deluxe Jazz 5 are both superb instruments. Having said that I still don't think Fender are by any means perfect because I still had to go through several of the same models basses before actually buying these because they were noticeably different to one another.

Edited by thebassist

I played a few of the American Vintage range last year and they were all phenomenal instruments, CS quality in my opinion, and great tone from all three. I tried a Adam Clayton a few months ago and whilst it was all put together well it was dull as dishwater. Like most brands you get some good ones and you get some great ones and occasionally you get garbage.

Edited by NJE

From a Mexican Fender point of view, I can say that the 2013 Precision I have is top quality, I cant find a fault on it. Its well made, sounds like a great Precision and is solid as a rock.

In the interest of balance though I saw a Mexican Jazz Bass in PMT Leeds and the string spacing at the nut was all over the place, I don't know how it got through QC. As a result there was a huge gap between the E and the end of the fretboard all the way down the neck.

So as always I guess it is best to try a few out and play before you pay wherever possible. I would have been really unhappy if I had bought that particular Jazz online. I am sure there is a much higher proportion out there that are put together well though.

It IS much better than it used to be, probably 2008 onwards as noted above. Just be careful to check everything, in person if you can, or indeed using the return policy if needs be. I've still found issues but in general it is much better.

I've actually found better QC with their guitars, e.g. a MIM Baja Telecaster (beautiful guitar, much better than my old MIA 99/00 Tele) which is just outstanding.