Why become a member? ×

Plectrum playing - why the snobbery?

highwayman

[quote name='FinnDave' timestamp='1465200252' post='3065949']
Only other bass players care whether you use a pick, fingers, or half a house brick to play, so long as they like what they hear.
[/quote]

Ain't dat de troof!

Although IME even other bass players don't give a monkey's.

I certainly don't.

I play with a pick on some songs, and without on others
Personally, I quite like the tone when playing with a pick - again on some songs
Others I'd rather play with my fingers, because that's what suits the song

When I started playing, I only played with a pick - it was fast, furious punk back then
JJ Burnel and Paul Gray were my fave players, and as others have said, it didn't do them any harm

But I learned to play without a pick, purely because I was frightened about dropping a pick mid-song, and having to faff about digging out another. Then I learned that some songs just sounded, or felt better to play with fingers an no pick

Ignore the snobbery (I actually don't think it's that bad, on here at least)
Just play what is most comfortable for you, and what suits the style of music you are playing
.... but if you can, learn to play with and without. If I can do it, I'm sure you can :)

Edited by Marc S

The ones who really have enough angst to bother you with such negativity need to go away and play more.
I mostly use fingers, but that's me. Occasional flatpick use, and more often than a flat I'll use a thumbpick in a bass-strum style to vary things when playing without a drummer, especially if the guitarist is a bit weak on rhythm!

In my rock covers band, I use a pick if the original song was played with a pick. I try to keep the sound close to the original as I can.
However, the last gig I played, I forgot my picks and played the whole set fingerstyle. TBH, nobody noticed.

[quote name='Hobbayne' timestamp='1465202925' post='3065969']