Why become a member? ×

Plectrum playing - why the snobbery?

highwayman

I've been playing bass for a couple of months now & am really enjoying it; I have a decent selection of songs to practice thanks to my fine tutor & am getting to grips with the neck layout & theory.

I've found that the bass riffs that I want to learn sound great when played with a plectrum, and coming from the guitar it feels natural - so why is there (not necessarily from the fine members of BC) so much snobbery about using them?

Probably because of this notion that it is "all in the fingers" that holy grail quest for great tone! Personally, I find it very hard to play bass with a pick, to the degree that if I ever play guitar now I tend to use fingers on that too. I love some pick on bass sounds, particularly the really old school muted flats on something like Labi Siffri's "It Must Be Love" and lots of other 60's pop, and the more gnarly punk players, but never been able to play that way.

I like to think that a lot of what can seem like snobbery is more a bit of a running joke, along with the 5 string debate and good few others.

Pick away - enjoy it!

don't know really, lots of the best bassists use picks, Macca, Carol Kaye, J J Burnel to name but 3, but most bassists seem to use finger style maybe that's it, I've always used a pick because most punk players seem to use a pick.
I started as a guitarist, that's got something to do with it, although perversely I have learned finger picking on acoustic, though still have no wish to do so on a bass.
To answer your question I think most bass players are cool with whichever way you play and a lot can do both

[quote name='highwayman' timestamp='1465152527' post='3065659']
...and coming from the guitar it feels natural...
[/quote]