Why become a member? ×

Advice for first time DB buyer please- new or used bass?

Matt Bass

Hi there,
I'm looking for some advice on buying my first DB. I've been playing electric for roughly 20 years and have always had a hankering to get upright! I recently invested in an EUB but found it was more akin to a big electric in tone than the classic woody DB I'm after and so I swapped it for a Mayonnes Be4 (which is fantastic by the way). Tho I didn't have a teacher I spent a lot of time on youtube etc trying to get technique pointers and I'm not put off by the new feel or size, if anything I'm more keen now than I was.
Anyway, I've been looking at the classifieds and Ebay for some time, and have been doing my research about different types of DB, laminates, hybrids and carved etc, and was hoping to find an older instrument second hand, mostly because it seems that DB's will grow into their sound after a few years but after a couple of missed opportunities (these things shift fast don't they) I still haven't found anything after looking around for a while. I've been reconsidering and after reading a couple of threads on here have started to think about a new instrument and in particular the 2W TN from Thomann, for around £1300- I could probably go a bit higher but I want to get a decent bow, pick up and bag too. Does anyone have any opinion as to whether I'm making a good choice? Is going for a new bass a good idea or should I hang on for the chance of something older? And is this one comparatively well respected? I also looked at a couple of Dukes because they seem to get a lot of love, but I'll probably be looking at blues/jazz/hip hop type styles and they seem to more for the rockabilly folks and people seem to like to slap them silly (tho I'll probs try a bit of that too lol).
Here's a link to the bass if anyone's feeling helpful...
http://www.thomann.de/gb/thomann_2w_tn_34_europe_double_bass.htm?ref=search_rslt_double+bass_264097_15