Why become a member? ×

Is bass your priority?

BrunoBass

I'm really a bassist but I currently play lead guitar in one of my band and over the last 10 years of a 30yr playing career, as well as bass, I have ventured onto guitar, mandolin, banjo, harmonica and upright bass with varying degrees of success. These days I really enjoy guitar simply because I put the work into my playing and have got more confident but bass is something that I will always have roots with. I should add I still regularly gig and record with bass too, it's just the guitar band is busier.

OK, I can see I might be the odd one out here...

I am new to bass so it is my minority activity at the moment.... I play cello in several orchestras and I did a concert in Birmingham last weekend and Chester and Tenbury Wells the weekend before. I play tenor sax in a couple of wind bands and I played at the Bridgewater Hall with one a few weeks ago and I'm in the midst of the usual summer fetes/concerts with them at the moment (one on Sunday afternoon at Maghull). I'm an experienced choral singer and I've sung with chamber choirs and choral societies in everywhere from a village hall, stately home or two, about 2 dozen cathedrals and the Albert Hall.

Apart from that, I don't do much. Pic from last week's concert
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gqs1km7c3gj0jy4/Concert-01.jpg?dl=0

Bass is my main instrument, but at home I play guitar and mandolin, although not brilliantly, but if/when I do hang up my bass, I would like to concentrate mainly on the mandolin, for me, it's such a lovely instrument, :)

I bought a bass recently (as a guitar player) purely to use on recordings and making the mistake I'm sure you all laugh at in thinking I'd be able to play the bass too by default.

Got it, couldn't play well at all so decided to practice a little bit and during that time I've fallen in love with the bass and have been mostly focusing on bass. Even just dropped 120 quid subscribing to Scott's Bass Academy.