Why become a member? ×

Acoustic bass possibly damaged

dajbass

Hi everyone. :)

I recently bought very nice acoustic bass, in really great condition, but there is this possible damage that concerns me.
I am not an expert and I can see that horizontal "cracks" on both sides are actually place where 2 pieces of wood were connected together, but I am not sure if those are just surface cracks in TLC or it could be more serious...

Please if you could give me your opinion, it is much appreciated.
Thanks!

[url="http://oi64.tinypic.com/efl2fa.jpg"]http://oi64.tinypic.com/efl2fa.jpg[/url]
[url="http://oi66.tinypic.com/11mci3b.jpg"]http://oi66.tinypic.com/11mci3b.jpg[/url]

The cracks parallel to the line of the neck are along the join between the neck and the heel extension. The first photo also shows cracking parallel to the neck/body joint.

I can't say from the photos whether the cracks go any deeper than the lacquer.

Hi @JapanAxe,

Yes, there is also vertical crack on first photo, but in person, that one looks like only on TLC.
I am worried about those horizontal ones on both sides. Like you said, they are along the join between the neck and the heel extension.
Do you have any experience with that kind of damage or you know someone who had? Could this be serious problem?

I am newbie and I don't know what should I do, i payed a lot for this instrument and it was advertised as "EX" and seller told me it was in excellent condition.
On photos that he sent me I didn't notice cracks cause of angles, and also he didn't make any of this side from my first photo.
I am waiting for his reply, but would like to hear opinions from more experienced people.

Thanks!

[quote name='3below' timestamp='1468658518' post='3092392']
Do you have access to a luthier near to you. Get them to look at the cracks and give a diagnosis. My initial feeling from the pictures is that I would not describe it as EX condition.
[/quote]