Why become a member? ×

Getting my fuzz on...

bassjamm

Oi oi folks!

Bit of a brain fart/dump coming up...apologies.

I'm getting into some weird sounds at the moment. Most recently, the band Cloudeater, and some of John Davis' stuff with Nerve.

Seems he's using a Zvex Woolly Mammoth for his fuzz.

Now, I'm new to fuzz and what not. But, I've been have a gander online...seems the Aguilar Fuzzistor is a bit naughty.

Can the more knowledgable amongst you help me figure out the differences between the Aguilar Fuzzistor and the Zvex Woolly Mammoth please? Or, of course...through in some other thoughts.

Bit of context...i've got a Mesa Boogie Bottle Rocket, Boss OC2 and an Ibanez Bass Synth. I've not yet used the Bottle Rocket successfully with the OC2 and Synth...I want to get nice oh at fuzz in there, hence this thread.

Thanks in advance for your help and input everyone.

J

Before you venture into the world of fuzz. Do yourself a money saving favour and check out the Big muff series by EHX. Some love them and some hate them but the new stuff like the nano bass big muff does the job. Also for Zvex check out the mastotron (£80 in the classifieds) a hell of a lot cheaper than the mammoth but just as dirty

Edited by Mattbass97

Each of those fuzzes have some drawbacks; the Aguilar doesn't play well with high output basses (even passive ones) and the Mammoth only sounds good connected directly to a passive bass with no buffers/preamps/pedals in between. The Mastotron is hard to dial in and often has too much or not enough bass!

For synthy stuff a Diabolik, Prunes & Custard or Source Audio Multiwave or Manta get my vote! But pretty much any fuzz, even the EHX BBM, will sound good going into a filter.

Thanks for the info and the input guys.

I've messed about with my Mesa Boogie Bottle Rocket a bit and got a nice sound with that. But I'm no genius. Just sounds good to me.

Got the signal going...

OC2 > Mesa Boogie Bottle Rocket > Ibanez Bass Synth