Why become a member? ×

Small combo for EUB. Any suggestions?

Chris Sharman

Hi all,

as per the title really, I am new to the EUB having recently taken ownership of an Eastcoast (rebranded Stagg I understand) and one of the bands I play for, Water for DOgs, have recently been exploring some more acoustic and chilled stuff using acoustics and piano. I would like to use my EUB on one or two tracks in a small scale live environment and I was wondering if anyone here uses a similar EUB in a small venue and has a recommendation for a suitable combo amp for the purpose.

Over to you m'learned colleagues...

• 3 weeks later...

Phil Jones Bass amps would be worth a look, they've got one to suit, from a double four, briefcase to suitcase depending on the volume you need.

Another good choice would be a small GK mb head with a Barefaced one10.

Lots of other really good options too, great time to be a bassist. 😊

Some players also use the Markbass 802
[url="http://www.markbass.it/product_detail.php?id=241"]http://www.markbass....tail.php?id=241[/url]
Although they're a bit pricey new, they sometimes come up for sale secondhand on here. I haven't owned one of these, but I had a Markbass 210 combo, and that was great with DB. Still have a Markbass 210 cab and that's brilliant too.

You could also try the TC electronic equivalent of the Markbass, it's also a 2x8 - think it's BG250-208 (250W). I had one myself a while back. It was great - really compact & lightweight. Sounded pretty good with DB too. I sold it purely because I wanted a bit more headroom when playing bass guitar. Wish I hadn't sold it actually, as it was pretty neat for taking to rehearsals & smaller venues