Why become a member? ×

JV Fenders/Squiers

Defo

I would love a fender precision from the 80s, that's when i started playing. What's the story with JVs? I remember reading about how the Japanese Fenders were outplaying the US ones back in the 80s (anyone else read Guitarist Magazine in the mid 80s?) and wonder if the JV might be what I'm after

thanks

Andy

I to started playing in the 1980's (87 to be precise), I remember Dixon's selling the JV Strat,& Precision with an amp for £199. My best mate bought one (the Strat) and it was a really nice guitar, and the first bass I ever played was the Squier JV '57 Precision.I Saw one for sale on Andy Baxter's site last year for £1250, 6 times more than it was new so I got a brand new Fender American Standard Precision. I just couldn't justify that price for a Squier I still like that bass though, wish I'd bought it back in '87.

Edited by luckman67

Many people say the early 80s Squires are as good as US ones (build quality and sound-wise), though I've not tried one myself. They normally go for the same price as used MIJ's, which is still a lot less than US ones.

I used to have a '89 Squire P bass made in Korea (the early MIK basses were made from the same parts as the mid 80s Squire basses because when production moved from Japan to Korea, they just shipped all the necks, bodies and pickups across, and they were assembled in Korea instead of Japan. That bass played and sounded really good, far superior to any Fender MIM P bass I've played.

I've read Fenders from the 70s and perhaps the 80s are not that good. I think large prices for these are paid because they look cool, and they do. If I had a choice between a 80s Fender P bass and a Squier JV 80s P Bass, I would choose the Squier, and treat myself with the cash I save.

[quote name='Defo' timestamp='1469359095' post='3097628']