Why become a member? ×

DB amp choices - maybe MarkBass?

lobematt

Hey guys

I'm looking for an amp for my upright, I'm a bit of a noob on DB gear and I can't find much advice out there! Most DB players I see tend to be using small speaker cabs so my current BG rig (the Jeff Berlin Markbass 115) probably isn't the best choice I'm guessing!

This looks like a bit of a bargain, is an 8" speaker going to be a bit [i]too [/i]small??

https://www.gak.co.uk/en/markbass-micromark-801/56360

Thanks!

Just thought I'd share my feelings & thoughts here
I double up, but play mostly Bass Guitar these days - not so much DB, unfortunately :(

I used Markbass gear (a CMD 102P) and the 151 extension cab. This was great with BG, but not so with DB
I tended to find that the lower end was a bit muddy, boomy and undefined when using the 15" ext cab.

I switched to a Phil Jones 4x5 and what a difference that made! It sounded much clearer and better defined and focussed.
A lot of DB players said that they much prefer smaller speakers when playing DB, for those very reasons.
Incidentally, I now have a Markbass 210 cab, which I have played the DB through, and again, it sounds good

I have gigged with just the PJ 4x5 cab and it sounded great - even outdoors, not going through the PA at a festival!

Re that amp you posted a link to - I think 8" may be fine, or better still a 2x8 or 4x8 (if such cabs exist)
What would concern me, is whether that amp has enough power / headroom
I've heard a few DB players use the PJ suitcase (or is it the breiefcase?) and one who was using the similar Markbass 2x8 combo.
The Markbass sounded great!

It also depends of course, on what other instruments you're playing with. A loud drummer will mean you need more volume / power
And if this is in conjunction with loud guitarists..... well ;)

• Like 2