Why become a member? ×

Diagnosing/valuing a bass

DanOwens

I'm going to look at a bass at the end of the week and although I understand about what features qualify a bass as better or more expensive (construction, fingerboard etc), I don't know how to tell by looking.

The bass is missing strings and a tailpiece so I can't play it and judge its value. I have to do it in sight so how on earth so I figure out if it's ply, solid or hybrid? I've got a good idea on fingerboards and painted, rosewood and ebony identification.

What else should I be looking at? When I bought my first car my dad gave me a checklist of what to look at. Is there and equivalent with uprights?

Edited by DanOwens

I'm not an expert but a few musts from me to get you started,

is the sound post in place and is the bass bar there?

Any major cracks or splits?

Any bulging or sunken areas front or back where the sound post lines up and near the bridge?

Why doesn't it have strings?

Look at the edges of the F holes to see if it's a solid piece of wood or layers of ply, look inside (take a torch) if the wood grain is nothing like the outside it's going to be ply.

Anymore anyone?

For me, it really is all about the sound/tone, volume, projection etc. As well as the quality of construction, which doesn't help you much, but be aware that the more you pay doesn't necessarily get you better quality. I've had the fortune to play half a dozen good DBs in the last 12 months and my valuation often doesn't match that of the owner.

There's nothing wrong with a ply bass depending upon what use you have planned for it? However, it might not be suitable for orchestral playing. I can't describe how to check the difference between ply and solid wood, perhaps someone else will offer words of wisdom? Cracks are ok if they've been repaired and stabilised (my 1930s DB has quite a few!) check for a label and any provenance of the instrument and of course the age.