Why become a member? ×

not quite NBD: Matt Freeman Precision to Jazz conversion

mcnach

It's not quite a NBD because I already owned this bass and have used it enough... but it's undergone a radical transformation.

I like the Jazz bass sound, but I'm not a big fan of the large body or the thin neck. I had this Precision which was pretty sweet, great neck, but a bit 'surplus to requirements' and I thought I could put a couple of Jazz pickups on it and see what happens.

I happened to have a couple of Nordstrand NJ4SE pickups, and I gave the job to Chris McIntyre. I collected it today.

This was before:

(the one on the left)

I replaced the pickguard with a parchment colour one, but I can't find pictures of it... oh, and a sticker of the logo of my band :ph34r:

I had the Jazz pickups installed as on a 60s spacing Jazz, and instead of VVT controls I have a master tone, master volume and a pan control. The jack socket was moved to the side. And this is what it looks like now:

the 'sofa shot' ;)

It sounds... like a Jazz with these Nordstrand pickups: not exactly traditional Jazz territory, but clearly Jazz... yet with a much nicer sized body and a bigger and more comfortable (for me) neck.

I don't know why I didn't do this before instead of buying so many Jazz basses over the years :lol:

Funny how good a Precision with J-PUPs looks, especially when compared to a Jazz with a P-PUP, which just looks wrong. That's a very elegant looking bass. I've always been convinced that a significant part of the P-Bass tone is in the neck (having played Precision neck on Jazz bodies and vice-versa), so I'm looking forward to hearing your views on how that sounds compared to a 'proper' Jazz. Either way, lovely looking bass, good work.

[quote name='Beedster' timestamp='1470695837' post='3107806']