Why become a member? ×

Pros, wannabees and hobbyists

Barking Spiders

Pro here.
Started playing in bands aged 15, through school and college. Then was semi pro for around 17 years, holding
down a job with a local newspaper whilst working 3 or 4 nights a week playing in clubs, pubs and then a residency
at a leading local nightclub where I played with quite a number of well known singers / comedians / bands.
Just as my day job was starting to go a bit pants, I got offered a chance to join a function / wedding band, and
played gigs all over the UK, & some in Europe and Morocco. Stayed with them for 16 years, until the recession started
to hit and we began struggling for work. Fortunately I then got the chance to join my current band, The ELO Experience,
who I've been touring UK theatres with now for 6 years. Also still fit in weekly pub gigs in an acoustic duo and a country rock band.
Consider myself very fortunate to be still making a living with my bass, just hope I can hang in there now!

Pro hobbyist wannabe.

Spent far too much of my life chasing the dream, was lucky enough to record a couple of albums & numerous demo's, but reality won and I ended up with a proper job and a multitude of constraints on my free time. Just play for fun now.

[quote name='4stringslow' timestamp='1471042398' post='3110252']

Surely 'professional' means earning a living solely from playing music?

Not sure about 'semi pro' - someone who earns some money from playing music? Though I'd suggest it would have to be a significant proportion of overall income rather than just 'beer money'.

I'm in neither camp so I guess that makes me a hobbyist, but I'm fortunate to be able to play and gig purely out of love of doing so, which means I'm not obliged to gig or play anything I don't want to in order to pay the bills.
[/quote]

I'm calling "malarkey" on this one.

I disagree.