Why become a member? ×

Arrgh - eBay amp purchase has blown my cab - Photos inside..

bagsieblue

Arrgghh - I recently picked up and today received an Old Trace Head as a backup to my main gigging head.

Connected everything up - switched on, amp hummed and hissed and died - also killing one of my EBS Neo 110.
Ohmage and everything else was fine - pulling a 8 Ohm load.
Connecting up my main head to cabs shows one of my EBS Neo 110 is completely dead.

Have reported to seller - hoping for a good outcome!

Edited by bagsieblue

Yep - nightmare, In that it's effectively halved my gigging rig, I use a pair of Neo 110's.
Refund on the amp should be easy, consequential loss of blowing my cab less so...
I'm not an expert on these things but I think the power supply has failed, as the speakon connector and cab are dead!

[quote name='bagsieblue' timestamp='1471383392' post='3112744']
Yep - nightmare, In that it's effectively halved my gigging rig, I use a pair of Neo 110's.
Refund on the amp should be easy, consequential loss of blowing my cab less so...
I'm not an expert on these things but I think the power supply has failed, as the speakon connector and cab are dead!
[/quote]

Its a shame about the amp.
But its really not cool at all about the cab been blown.
I would assume the seller though would not sell an amp knowing that it was in such a condition???

However just looking at the cabs I'm wondering if hopefully it blew the tweeter crossover or a protection fuse if it has one!? Least if something like that has gone a fuse etc may fix it, or the main driver is ok hopefully then it could be wired up without the tweeter etc but it would still work alright.

[quote name='Twincam' timestamp='1471385092' post='3112764']

Its a shame about the amp.
But its really not cool at all about the cab been blown.
I would assume the seller though would not sell an amp knowing that it was in such a condition???