Why become a member? ×

A Theory Of Film Music.

lowdown

that was pretty interesting. i have been trying to record little soundtrack style tunes recently. i got tired of longer tunes as they all sound really similar without any lyrics, i still mess about with them but i can do a 2-3 minute soundtrack idea in an afternoon and move on to another idea. i really enjoy putting a tune to a particular emotion or picture/scene. i am not that good at it yet but its much more my cup of tea than a complete tune thats always left wanting for lyrics.
i do like the old symphonic soundtracks but they are far beyond my scope of use as i just get baffled by the scale. nonetheless they are effective and i dont think it matters if they are truly original or not as they are there to serve the picture, not necessarily as a standalone piece. i prefer the more modern methods. it does lose a sense of grandeur at times but it can be beautiful and subtle. my favourite modern soundtrack would be the nick cave/warren ellis one for the assassination of jesse james, i could listen to that all day.
the only bits of modern soundtracks that i honestly loath are those godawful tortured strings like the ones in insidious which just sting my ears, and that obnoxious bassy swell like the one in interstellar/dark knight/inception etc etc that has made me fear the opening scenes of many modern films. they would be fine in moderation but they are just exaggerated and irritating.

[quote name='christofloffer' timestamp='1474363588' post='3137353']
the only bits of modern soundtracks that i honestly loath are those godawful tortured strings like the ones in insidious which just sting my ears, and that obnoxious bassy swell like the one in interstellar/dark knight/inception etc etc that has made me fear the opening scenes of many modern films. they would be fine in moderation but they are just exaggerated and irritating.
[/quote]

You'll hate my entry for this month's composition challenge :)