Why become a member? ×

Hohner acoustic/electric strings too low, and few other issues

lurkingbass

Hi all! :hi:

Total newbie here, just started playing.
Bought very nice 2nd hand Hohner acoustic/electric from the 90s. It has few issues and I hope i can get good advice here.

It came with old strings and one of them broke when I over-tensioned it, never mind, got new ones and replaced.
I got D'Addario black nylon tapewound strings and they are exactly what I wanted (deep mellow sound, no squeaking).
But, first two wouldn't fit all the way through bridge so I had to make holes just a little bit wider. 3rd and 4th string went through so I wasn't tampering with those.
I guess this was because this bass was designed for strings 45-100 and I mounted 50-105.

So [color=#ff0000][u][b]1st question[/b][/u][/color]: Is this ok? Did I make anything worse by doing this? I think nothing has changed, but still would like to read other opinions.

Anyway, lets go on to the real issue. Strings height. They are too low.
I inspected why is this and I found out two causes.

1st cause is saddle, it is obviously sanded too much. Distance between 15th fret and E string is barely over 3 mm.
I googled and found out it shouldn't be below 4 mm. I also pressed E string against 1st and last fret and it seems there is no gap at all above other frets.
When I play it slow and smooth it is fine, but as soon as I start to play it harder strings are hitting other frets, buzz is also there, it is just not good.
Also last (G) string is barely sitting on saddle, if at all, and I think it has too high action. When I mounted those new strings, this one was so loud, it sounded as church bell. I managed to fix it by straightening the string itself, but I think that action is still too high in comparison to other strings.