Why become a member? ×

Straight neck

Helderius

Hi,
I wonder if you guys ever had a bass with a straight neck with a loose trus rod.
As far as I know, the Bass has been hanging on a wall for more than 15 years.
The truss rod is loose and there seem to be almost no relief on the neck.
The strings buzz a litle after the 17th fret and a litle more on the 21th.
I am no expert on this, any advice is welcome.
Forgot to mention, it is a Fender American Deluxe from 1996 I bought one year ago and I must be certain it is not damaged because I am trying to sell it.
Cheers

Edited by Helderius

Tightening the truss rod nut removes relief, so don't do that!

To induce some relief you have a few options. Heavier gauge strings would work fine and after being on for a few weeks you could most likely go back down to regular gauge and the relief will hold. Alternatively you could tune up a note or two and leave it for a few weeks. Or remove the neck, loosen truss nut fully (if it isn't already) clamp into a slight forward bow and tighten the nut.

All three should work, but as you're selling it I'd probably just put some heavier gauge strings on it and sell it like that.

[quote name='Manton Customs' timestamp='1476010812' post='3150373']

To induce some relief you have a few options. Heavier gauge strings would work fine and after being on for a few weeks you could most likely go back down to regular gauge and the relief will hold. Alternatively you could tune up a note or two and leave it for a few weeks. Or remove the neck, loosen truss nut fully (if it isn't already) clamp into a slight forward bow and tighten the nut.

All three should work, but as you're selling it I'd probably just put some heavier gauge strings on it and sell it like that.
[/quote]
Hi, I have some old 0.50 flats on it now. It is starting to show some relief. I will leave them on this bass for a while. I am not having it hang on the wall for now.
Cheers
Hélder