Why become a member? ×

Changing views on amp setups.

nash

So like a lot of us I've played guitar in a band and also bass in a band. I am a bassist first.

Anyway I'm leaning away from treating my bass amp setup in a similar way to guitar amp setup. By that I mean the front of house sound for a guitar is most of the time from a microphone placed in front of the cab. This was also the method for bass for a long time with maybe a DI as well. But now I find it's mostly DI. So I think what is the point of lugging around a massive valve head if no one is really going to hear it. Also I've started using my Orange OB1 more as just a poweramp now with all these PreAmp DI pedals coming out.

Literally all my tone comes from my pedalboard.

I'm not even sure if I make sense.

Yikes - when were you last playing bass, I thought DI had been the major signal source for the PA for the last 30 years!

I think it depends on the venue & the band - if the venue is small enough to take the bass amp supplying all the volume then it's still nice to have a good amp set-up.

Plus there's recording, I always mic the cab for recording.

It depends entirely on what kinds of gigs you are doing and how good the monitoring system is.

My band plays all sorts of gigs where the PA ranges from just about enough for the vocals provided that we play fairly quietly (and no foldback whatsoever) to huge rigs with individual monitor mixes for each stage position and the only time I can actually hear any sound coming from my rig (as opposed to out of the monitors) is when I'm stood right in front of it!

A lot of the time, if it's a venue we've not played before, there no way of knowing what level of PA is going to be present and unfortunately experience has shown us that even if a gear list is provided ahead of the gig, what is actually supplied on the night can be something entirely different. In these circumstances there is no way I could risk not having a full rig behind me.