Why become a member? ×

Guitarist tuning up

Kevin Dean

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1477054861' post='3159551']
There's doing it when you have the opportunity (during a guitar-free song intro or while the front man is telling the audience something important), and obsessively compulsively doing it between every song irrespective of whether your guitar has gone out of tune and holding up the flow of the set.
[/quote]

Those are indeed different situations.

A good guitarist will know when he is out of tune by just playing an open chord , G seems to be the best for my ears ( not that I am a good guitarist ) . If the chord sounds good , we dive into the next song .

Obviously ,he would probably tune up after a particularly energetic " Pete Townsend-esque " rendition of Mustang Sally or sets his guitar on fire a la Hendrix stylee.

Worst offender was when I was playing in a band with a guitarist who would never pay more than 50 quid for a guitar , he had 5 such beauties , combined with a permanently whistling H/H combo amp , it was truly an audio nightmare , or just very avant guarde playing .

Agree with that Martin, our guitarist can tell if he`s out of tune when playing, so then tunes up after the song has ended. I`m pretty much the same, I can tell when I`ve gone out of tune pretty quickly.

In an old band the guitarist used to tune between each song and it did used to break the flow of the music. I was also on guitar at that point. We both had the same guitars, and sometimes I wouldn`t even have to tune up between gigs. Think I got lucky there, never had an instument since that held tuning that well.

Guest bassman7755