Why become a member? ×

Newbie question: What makes bow 'screech'?

danonearth

Hi, I am just beginning to bow my upright bass, and sometimes I get a 'screech' if I rotate the bow on it's side and play the string with the edge of the hair... I am interested in 'why' this happens? As I actually really like the 'effect' (it's kind of like 'feedback' on an electric guitar) and want to use it when I choose to, but I am just curious why bowing with the tilted edge of the hair does this?

Thanks!

I'm a cellist, not a double-bassist, but I would suspect lack of rosin. Does the bow skitter over the strings? That indicates lack of consistent grip, which means either lack of rosin, or the hair is worn. You can get it if the strings get caked with rosin, which is why you need to clean the string by giving them a rub with a clean dry cloth after playing. Now if you were talking underhand baroque grip on a violone...
This vid is violone played with a baroque bow: [url="https://youtu.be/CunZ_ciJ6bI"]https://youtu.be/CunZ_ciJ6bI[/url]

And this one is played with an underhand bow, but nearer to Renaissance style bow: [url="https://youtu.be/hbYfSAtuR6E"]https://youtu.be/hbYfSAtuR6E[/url]

Edited by zbd1960