Jump to content


iRig HD2


14 replies to this topic

#1 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 02 November 2016 - 06:02 PM

Hi chaps

Wasn't sure where to put this thread.

I've been sent one of these to review but I'm finding there's some latency when playing my bass into my iPad. It's only very slight but it's there.

Has anyone else got one and heard the same? We're talking a few milliseconds at most but playing along you can definitely feel the pops lagging slightly behind your playing.

The support team have been replying but only with very basic things like restart your iPad/update the OS/close other apps/reinstall Amplitude. None work and I'd tried them all already. I've given up with them.

Any experiences?

#2 acidbass

    Platinum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass Guitar and Live Sound

Posted 07 November 2016 - 09:16 PM

Hmm slightly concerning. I had one of these on my Christmas list for home practice with an iPad. Are you using an app e.g. Amplitube?

Danny McCormack

Bass Player
Session Musician
Bass Guitar Tutor

Visit me at my Website


www.dannythebassplayer.com


#3 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 07 November 2016 - 09:19 PM

Yes with amplitube. iPad mini on latest OS. Plenty of memory and no other apps running. Support basically gave up on me so I'm glad I didn't buy it.

#4 dannybuoy

    Fingering Am

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,363 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambs

Posted 07 November 2016 - 10:57 PM

Have you tried setting the latency to ultra low in the AmpliTube settings? You can get it even lower if you run it inside Audiobus, as Audiobus locks the latency of apps running inside it and the settings allow you to go lower than most other apps will.

Edited by dannybuoy, 07 November 2016 - 11:03 PM.


#5 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 07 November 2016 - 11:00 PM

'Ultra low' selected!

#6 dannybuoy

    Fingering Am

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,363 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambs

Posted 07 November 2016 - 11:05 PM

Maybe their 'ultra low' isn't that low! Just launched it and there is only 'low' and 'ultra low'.

Tried it with GarageBand? It has free Ampeg sims that sound better than anything else I've found on iOS.

#7 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 08 November 2016 - 01:07 PM

Not yet, will do today and report back!

#8 Muppet

    ppppick up a penguin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alconbury, Cambridgeshire

Posted 08 November 2016 - 01:27 PM

I upgraded to the iRig Pro from the basic iRig and have no latency issues. I think it's the same D/A converter in the HD2? I use it with Bias, Amplitube, and that other app that Ashdown use. I did find quite a lot of latency with the regular iRig however. I find it best with Bias, but I think you have to pay for that!

#9 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 11 November 2016 - 05:21 PM

Exactly the same with GarageBand. Really disappointing because the amp sims sound great but there's just this tiny delay which means for example when I turn the volume down I can hear the notes on my bass acoustically milliseconds before the processed signal.

The company wouldn't admit it openly but they said that 'most people won't notice' which seems to me an admission of guilt if anything. I guess in a band context I might not so much either but as a play through headphones a lot from my Roland VB99 this just feels really annoying. So much potential. I'll give them a chance to send me something else but as this is the latest generation I'd expect it to be their best effort.

Disappointed but I'd still be interested to hear if anyone else has the same issue.

P.S I e tried it on two different iPads. Haven't tried on laptop yet because that kind of defeats the point for me - might try my phone I suppose but being an older model I don't hold out much hope.

#10 acidbass

    Platinum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass Guitar and Live Sound

Posted 03 July 2017 - 06:51 PM

Ped did you ever sort out this problem? I read that if your iPad is connected to a device via Bluetooth (e.g. wireless speaker) that it can cause latency issues with wired devices e.g. iRig.

Danny McCormack

Bass Player
Session Musician
Bass Guitar Tutor

Visit me at my Website


www.dannythebassplayer.com


#11 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 03 July 2017 - 06:59 PM

Hi, no I didn't. I wasn't connected to anything else though.

#12 acidbass

    Platinum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass Guitar and Live Sound

Posted 05 July 2017 - 11:33 AM

Looking into buying an interface for my iPad - only need 1 in/1 out really, so the iRig HD2 is high on my list. Slightly concerned re the latency issue however.

Danny McCormack

Bass Player
Session Musician
Bass Guitar Tutor

Visit me at my Website


www.dannythebassplayer.com


#13 Sean

    BB Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloucester, UK

Posted 08 October 2017 - 02:06 PM

 acidbass, on 07 November 2016 - 09:16 PM, said:

Hmm slightly concerning. I had one of these on my Christmas list for home practice with an iPad. Are you using an app e.g. Amplitube?
I’ve got the original one, <£9 Amazon Prime. Works a treat, no issues.

#14 ped

    Général d’Armée

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Posted 08 October 2017 - 02:13 PM

Aye I bought a super cheap original one for £3 on eBay a while ago so will give it a try when it arrives.

#15 Bigwan

    Hyper elite member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ballymena... hey...

Posted 09 October 2017 - 07:15 AM

I'm using a focusrite itrack pocket as an interface and it works well. Originally intended for iPhone as it double jobs as a stand, but works well for the iPad too. I found the original iRig was stupidly noisy on my old iPhone with a lot of crosstalk, especially on guitar with distortion, but I haven't tried it on iPad yet...

Edited by Bigwan, 09 October 2017 - 07:22 AM.

ACG Finn 4 Standard - ACG Recurve 5 Custom - Fender US Precision - Yamaha Pulser 400

Barefaced Two10 - Ashdown ABM C110 - Ashdown 4x8 cabs (x2) - Burman PowerPak pre/power

My Feedback





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users