Why become a member? ×

Four fingers

Hector

When I started playing BG as a begiiner, I was quickly able to use all 4 fingers on my left hand (probably because I'm left handed, but play a right handed bass). On DB it is of course, the preferred technique not to use your 3rd finger
I discovered this on various youtube lessons, and tried to train myself to play the "correct" way, and not use this finger on DB
Usually, if I concentrate sufficiently, I'm able not to use it most of the time

However, there are times when I'm a bit lazy with technique, and moreover, times when I just find it seems natural for me to use all 4 fingers
like artisan says above, I've probably just switched over from playing BG...... bad habits, but hey ho, old dog, new tricks etc etc ;)

Edited by Marc S

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1478639717' post='3170594']
I've gone the other way and carried the hand shape using three fingers (with the 3rd behind the pinkie to help) onto electric bass :D
[/quote]

Yes, I do the same with the 1-2-4 fingering on electric bass. I think it may be because I spent several years in my teens with only a fretless bass, and the fingers fall on the note positions more naturally that way.

On my full sized double bass with my little hands ... not a hope below 4th position, beyond which thumb, 1, 2, 3 works better anyway. Pivots make up for the missing finger on occasion tho.

I learned the 'cello as a child: always all 4 fingers with all kinds of back and forth extensions - and translated that to bass guitar long before learning the db. Now play three different instruments with three totally different sets of fingerings! Tempted to re-tune the guitars in fifths, but (apart from making my hands hurt) it just feels wrong somehow (fourths, fifths and octaves dont flow so easily from first finger).

My double bass teacher claims to use strict 3 finger technique on double and guitar ... but he's a bit of a simandl man.