Why become a member? ×

The more I hear about being in a band, the more I really don't want to go there...

Grangur

[quote name='Grangur' timestamp='1478721625' post='3171243']
That's interesting.

So taking what's being said here in the thread. The way NOT to do it is answering small ads. So I look at the musicians I know:
1 - Mrs G who plays piano and has zero interest in performing
2 - Mrs G's brother, who's a professional classical cello player and no interest in performing anything other than classical.

So the access is somewhat limited. I could start a band, but even though I'm 57 I have zero knowledge about running a band. That said, I'm no numpty, so I can imagine a lot of the logistical and marketing stuff. I would also need to invest in a PA and lights etc.

The other thing I would need is time - to invest in getting the play-list together with sheets etc to hand out, marketing....
Exactly.
[/quote]

I'd say small ads as largely a waste of time. Not saying it never works, at all, but you might need to be prepared to sift thru a lot of dead wood.
But you need to start somewhere..........and get to know those people who play..

That's interesting.

So taking what's being said here in the thread. The way NOT to do it is answering small ads.
So the access is somewhat limited. I could start a band, but even though I'm 57 I have zero knowledge about running a band. That said, I'm no numpty, so I can imagine a lot of the logistical and marketing stuff. I would also need to invest in a PA and lights etc.

The other thing I would need is time - to invest in getting the play-list together with sheets etc to hand out, marketing....
Exactly.
[/quote]
[quote name='Grangur' timestamp='1478681741' post='3170799']