Why become a member? ×

Noble preamp, any BC owners?

Kevsy71

Lots of love for the Noble Preamp at Talkbass, but are there any Basschat owners? How was the experience (and customs charge!) ordering direct, and does anyone gig with it, and through what? Any comparisons with a REDDI etc. very welcome.

[url="http://nobleamps.com/preamps/"]http://nobleamps.com/preamps/[/url]

Muchas gracias :)

Edited by Kevsy71

• 1 month later...

I've been using mine for about 18 months and although I try not to rely on specific pieces of gear I really miss it on the rare occasions that I'm on a gig without it.

What does it do? In short, it allows me to take a lightweight class D amp (Aguilar TH500) to a gig and make it sound like I'm playing through a big old tube head.

The 9v power outlets are also a big plus if you like to run pedals on the gig - the only drawback is that they're not isolated so you can't use a standard voltage doubler cable for 18v pedals.

At almost every gig I get band members or sound engineers coming over and asking 'what's the black box?'. Singers using IEMs have commented that the bass still sounds 'fat'.

I have a regular gig in a hotel on upright, one week I left the house in a rush and forgot the Noble... At sound check the sound engineer pulled me over and said 'look how much I've had to do to your channel - usually I can just leave it flat'. I've used in on a few recordings and it comes across really well - the EQ is great and it's one of the only pieces of gear that I actually use the treble control on.

Is it much more expensive than other DIs? Yes. Is it worth it? For me, definitely. Compared to Sansamps, Radial DIs and the Aguilar Tonehammer DI this is vastly superior.

[quote name='TKenrick' timestamp='1486323273' post='3230917']
I've been using mine for about 18 months and although I try not to rely on specific pieces of gear I really miss it on the rare occasions that I'm on a gig without it.