Why become a member? ×

Newbie here - Should I go long scale (34 inch) or short scale (30 inch)?

Numerov

I'm a guitar player with (what I consider to be) short-ish fingers.
I want to learn a little bass mainly so I can record bass parts on home demos to start with.

I've tried a short scale bass (Squier VM Jaguar SS) and found it comfortable as it is short scale and has a narrow neck (1.5 inches/38mm ) which does not get much wider as you go up the neck). Radius is 9.5 inches
I quite like its sound. It;s around £250 new. Can't justify spending too much more than this.

I've tried a Revelation RPJ77 full scale which is between £150 and £180 and to me sounds bigger and better.
I don't know how much this is due to the instrument being bigger and how much due to the pickups probably being better (Alan Entwistle PBXN and JBXN - neodymiums).
The neck I think is 43mm and don't know the radius, I found this far more difficult to play.
I think the scale possibly had more to do with it than the neck width - but not sure.
The Revelation also has superior build quality in my opinion.

It's very tempting to take the short scale option. The Jaguar SS does sound pretty decent - but would I be better off taking the tougher option and going with the full scale option and after some time I would master that neck??

How long (approximately) does it take to master the long scale neck if you focus on the correct exercises every day for 20 minutes or so?

Advice required!! Thank you...

Numerov

I guess any instrument would take a lifetime to master, but I'd have to get back to you on that one.

As for short or long scale, I would go with what feels best without compromising too much on tone. I know that my smallish hands are much more comfortable on a short scale so I'm not thinking so much about what I'm playing and am able focus on what I'm hearing. I'd imagine that if you're feeling some discomfort this would be harder to do.