Why become a member? ×

Kinda random tech help needed !

StHellion

Hi all,

I'm working away from home for six months, so I packed the essentials. Toiletries, immodium (I'm in the far east) clothes, laptop and my bass :D

I wanted to play my bass and also practice along to some tracks on my ipod. So, I also brought my Zoom B3 (which caused a mild stir at security!). I have to admit, I've tried something a little 'sketchy' but I couldn't really fit my Peavey combo in the overhead locker.....

Almost embarrassed to admit what I've done, but nuts to it, I wanna play my bass.

Ok, so Zoom B3 headphone out into a headphone splitter :blink:. Headphone cable from iPod into same splitter and then both into a pair of headphones. Told you it was sketchy :lol: When I play my bass it's fine, but as soon as I add music from the iPod, the volume of the bass drops a lot. It's probably something to do with resistance or sensitivity but I'm no techie I'm afraid. Any ideas gratefully received!

I'm trying it with some cheap over ear Sennheiser headphones, I have some nice ADAC sony headphones, but I don't want to damage them !!!

If all else fails I'll find a music shop and get a little practice amp or something.

Cheers

Pocket Rockit has a dedicated line input that's kept separate from the bass input, so no more impedance loading.

https://pocket-rockit.myshopify.com/collections/pocket-rockit

Or a small mixer, but that's more weight to carry - Pocket Rockit will fit in your bass case. :)

[quote name='cheddatom' timestamp='1482235556' post='3198649']
you can use the B3 as an audio interface, so plug it into your laptop using the USB, install the drivers, plug your bass and headphones into the zoom, and play music off your laptop
[/quote]

I admit i had to google the back pannel of the B3 because i thought that it had a aux in but when i saw it didn't this was my second idea. Should work fine.