Why become a member? ×

Whats the deal with Fender?

Light Grenade

I am new to this game having only been playing a few months but my experiences have not made Fender top of my wanted list. Knowing they have a reputation for being excellent I sought them out to have a go to set a benchmark. I have to admit I was disappointed by the build quality compared to the opposition. Sound is very variable but that could well be down to the set up and I don't have the experience to determine which it is. But the feel wasn't as good as others for the same or less money. Perhaps it's down to expectation and if you expect something to be superior it's easier to be disappointed than if you have no opinion at all. The one that really stood out was a Fender dimension which being their entry level bass you wouldn't expect to be amazing but it felt a lot cheaper than the basic Ibanez which was half the price and sound wise I preferred the Ibanez (but that's subjective). Neither sounded as good as the worn Aria I ended up buying for peanuts, or felt as good for that matter. Being such a beginner I am coming at this from a different angle to most of you very experienced folk but I have a background in engineering and from that point of view they were nothing to shout about. Then on the other hand you see someone play one that has obviously been around the world and back and it sounds superb, so has the quality dropped? Do they need to be bedded in? Or does it come down to what you play it through as much as the the bass itself? I don't know.......

Edited by T-Bay

[quote name='gary mac' timestamp='1482222766' post='3198504']

I suspect the tight margins make them reluctant to spend out on set ups, even though it might well generate more sales.
[/quote]Isn't this part of what guitar shop assistants do.? Cant see them paying overtime for there hopefully knowledgeable staff to make sure what there selling works as it should. There is no excuse for instruments to be badly set up.