Why become a member? ×

Has anyone gone from lightweight back to heavy?

AndyTravis

In my quest for all things 80's I've started to look at Trace Gear.

In the late 90's I had a procession of Combos by TE and then was very excited and ultimately disappointed by their resurgence under Peavey in the mid 2000's.

I've currently got a delightfully compact, light and loud Ashdown rig, and I've been using their gear since about 2011 (this is my 3rd rig of theirs).

So why do I feel the lure of the Green badge?

Someone please tell me I'm being ridiculous and it's not the way forward at all...

Edited by AndyTravis

I have.

My main Ashdown rig is an ABM 500 EVO - around 17kg - and an Ashdown VS212 which is a ceramic loaded heavy thing. But not as heavy as my old Trace V-Type combo, which was about 7/8 of the Sun's mass.

It's ace. But I would like a lighter cab haha ;)

I was at my amp tech recently and he was working on a Trace head.

He showed me the quality of components and design - all very basic and he wasn't impressed.

I think his comment was something like a "catastrophic failure waiting to happen"!

To be fair, he's a real perfectionist and it takes a lot to impress him, lol

My #1 gig rig is an Ashdown ABM 500 evo II into a Barefaced Super Twin, but for the last 4 months it hasn't left the house as I have been using my Ashdown Touring 330 1x15 combo instead, which weighs about double the main rig, but sounds so good it gets used everywhere.

[quote name='FinnDave' timestamp='1482265886' post='3199127']
My #1 gig rig is an Ashdown ABM 500 evo II into a Barefaced Super Twin, but for the last 4 months it hasn't left the house as I have been using my Ashdown Touring 330 1x15 combo instead, which weighs about double the main rig, but sounds so good it gets used everywhere.
[/quote]

P bass man :-)