Jump to content


Amp.head di to audio interface


8 replies to this topic

#1 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 07:58 PM

Hi folks. Quick question. I have my head at home but not the cab. Is it OK to use the head on its own to run the DI or do I need a cab attached for safety reasons? Thanks.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#2 VTypeV4

    Engineer and Musician club

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle-U-Lyme, Staffs, UK
  • Interests:Bikes, PA, Bass, Speakers and Amps.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 08:32 PM

As long as it doesn't have a valve power stage, you'll be fine so things like Ashdown ABMs, SWRs, EBS etc plus any modern class D range will be safe.. On the other hand, if it's something like an SVT CL then you'll need a speaker or a dummy load as you'll hurt the valves and / or output transformer without..
Trace Elliot V4 MKII Head..

SWR Goliath Jr III x 2..

Yamaha NE-1.

'01 Warwick Streamer LX5.

'06 Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Yamaha 02R -x2- (x3!)

Aka 'Matt Sound' from the Rigger.

Art of Sound Pro Audio Hire + Live Recordings. Msg or email me for details..

My Bikes..
'87 Yamaha FJ1200 1TX
'92 Yamaha FJ1200 3XW
'80 Honda CX500 A
'89 Honda VFR400 NC30
'95 Kawasaki GT750

#3 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 09:15 PM

No valves - it's an Ashdown MAG300. I've just been recording di up to now and using amp sims with pretty decent results but I fancied trying this for a change. Really don't want to damage anything as it's not long repaired and it's my only amp.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#4 bazztard

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide , South Australia
  • Interests:Learning YYZ note for note :)

Posted 03 January 2017 - 10:30 AM

you may find the result unsatisfactory, as I did. Not because the amp isn't good, but because the cab adds more to the sound than I realised. Using the amp's DI is not much more 'warm' than going straight in to the interface. Just my experience trying to find the right tone. Bought a tube pre amp, tried micing the cab, tried the amp's DI. In the end, the bass sounded better going straight into my interface, go figure.
The optimist sees the glass half full, the pessimist sees it half empty. The realist finishes it and orders another one

#5 Sibob

    Beyond hope

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,005 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:High Wycombe / Welwyn Garden City

Posted 03 January 2017 - 12:53 PM

I agree, you may as well go straight to the interface from your bass (assuming the interface has an Instrument input), then just use a amp/cab sim VST for the rest.
I recently recording an album with my Precision direct to my Focusrite Clarett and it sounded brilliant, didn't use any VSTs other than a little compression.

Si

BassChat Terms and Conditions



Instagram/Twitter: @SimonRPoulton | Blog (Bassist Interviews etc)


#6 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 03 January 2017 - 02:53 PM

The interface is an Audient iD14 so it has an instrument DI. I just got it for Xmas and am still getting used to it. The DI seems very hot and the only way I can get a signal in without it clipping is by turning the volume down on the bass: I think this loses a bit of the character of the bass. I've the gain on the mixer right down and I'm still going into the red!
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#7 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 06 January 2017 - 12:24 AM

Turns out there is a fault with the interface. It's away back to Thomann for replacement.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#8 VTypeV4

    Engineer and Musician club

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle-U-Lyme, Staffs, UK
  • Interests:Bikes, PA, Bass, Speakers and Amps.

Posted 08 January 2017 - 12:08 PM

Hope they sort it for you quickly.. B)
Trace Elliot V4 MKII Head..

SWR Goliath Jr III x 2..

Yamaha NE-1.

'01 Warwick Streamer LX5.

'06 Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Yamaha 02R -x2- (x3!)

Aka 'Matt Sound' from the Rigger.

Art of Sound Pro Audio Hire + Live Recordings. Msg or email me for details..

My Bikes..
'87 Yamaha FJ1200 1TX
'92 Yamaha FJ1200 3XW
'80 Honda CX500 A
'89 Honda VFR400 NC30
'95 Kawasaki GT750

#9 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 08 January 2017 - 04:10 PM

Thanks man. Back to using the Line 6 and it's just not doing it for me any more.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users