Jump to content


Amp.head di to audio interface


17 replies to this topic

#1 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 07:58 PM

Hi folks. Quick question. I have my head at home but not the cab. Is it OK to use the head on its own to run the DI or do I need a cab attached for safety reasons? Thanks.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#2 VTypeV4

    Engineer and Musician club

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle-U-Lyme, Staffs, UK
  • Interests:Bikes, PA, Bass, Speakers and Amps.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 08:32 PM

As long as it doesn't have a valve power stage, you'll be fine so things like Ashdown ABMs, SWRs, EBS etc plus any modern class D range will be safe.. On the other hand, if it's something like an SVT CL then you'll need a speaker or a dummy load as you'll hurt the valves and / or output transformer without..
Trace Elliot V4 MKII Head..

SWR Goliath Jr III x 2..

Yamaha NE-1.

'01 Warwick Streamer LX5.

'06 Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Yamaha 02R x3 plus Allen & Heath ML5000

Aka 'Matt Sound' from the Rigger.

Live sound and Recording engineer. Msg or email me for details..

My Bikes..
'87 Yamaha FJ1200 1TX
'89 Yamaha FJ1200 3CV
'80 Honda CX500 A
'89 Honda VFR400 NC30

#3 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 02 January 2017 - 09:15 PM

No valves - it's an Ashdown MAG300. I've just been recording di up to now and using amp sims with pretty decent results but I fancied trying this for a change. Really don't want to damage anything as it's not long repaired and it's my only amp.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#4 bazztard

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide , South Australia
  • Interests:Learning YYZ note for note :)

Posted 03 January 2017 - 10:30 AM

you may find the result unsatisfactory, as I did. Not because the amp isn't good, but because the cab adds more to the sound than I realised. Using the amp's DI is not much more 'warm' than going straight in to the interface. Just my experience trying to find the right tone. Bought a tube pre amp, tried micing the cab, tried the amp's DI. In the end, the bass sounded better going straight into my interface, go figure.
The optimist sees the glass half full, the pessimist sees it half empty. The realist finishes it and orders another one

#5 Sibob

    Beyond hope

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:High Wycombe / Welwyn Garden City

Posted 03 January 2017 - 12:53 PM

I agree, you may as well go straight to the interface from your bass (assuming the interface has an Instrument input), then just use a amp/cab sim VST for the rest.
I recently recording an album with my Precision direct to my Focusrite Clarett and it sounded brilliant, didn't use any VSTs other than a little compression.

Si

BassChat Terms and Conditions



Instagram/Twitter: @SimonRPoulton | Blog (Bassist Interviews etc)


#6 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 03 January 2017 - 02:53 PM

The interface is an Audient iD14 so it has an instrument DI. I just got it for Xmas and am still getting used to it. The DI seems very hot and the only way I can get a signal in without it clipping is by turning the volume down on the bass: I think this loses a bit of the character of the bass. I've the gain on the mixer right down and I'm still going into the red!
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#7 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 06 January 2017 - 12:24 AM

Turns out there is a fault with the interface. It's away back to Thomann for replacement.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#8 VTypeV4

    Engineer and Musician club

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle-U-Lyme, Staffs, UK
  • Interests:Bikes, PA, Bass, Speakers and Amps.

Posted 08 January 2017 - 12:08 PM

Hope they sort it for you quickly.. B)
Trace Elliot V4 MKII Head..

SWR Goliath Jr III x 2..

Yamaha NE-1.

'01 Warwick Streamer LX5.

'06 Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Yamaha 02R x3 plus Allen & Heath ML5000

Aka 'Matt Sound' from the Rigger.

Live sound and Recording engineer. Msg or email me for details..

My Bikes..
'87 Yamaha FJ1200 1TX
'89 Yamaha FJ1200 3CV
'80 Honda CX500 A
'89 Honda VFR400 NC30

#9 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 08 January 2017 - 04:10 PM

Thanks man. Back to using the Line 6 and it's just not doing it for me any more.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#10 Mornats

    Hyper elite member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,190 posts
  • Location:Bristol

Posted 21 January 2017 - 10:54 PM

I actually had better results going through the DI on my Markbass 121P into my interface (Focusrite Forte) than plugging direct into the Forte. I got a much cleaner, better balanced sound. You can always use an amp/cab emulator (Amplitube, Guitar Rig etc.) to get something like the cab sound if you wanted.
  • Main bass: Squier modified VM Jazz: KiOgon wiring loom and Entwistle JBXN pickups
  • Main bass: Fender Standard Precision (MIM)
  • Other basses: SGC Nanyo Bass Collection SB320, Yamaha TRBX 504
  • MarkBass CMD 121P
  • Must... let... go: Ashdown 220 Touring 1x12 Combo with VS112 extension cab
Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/mornats.
Feedback: http://basschat.co.u...ck-for-mornats/

#11 VTypeV4

    Engineer and Musician club

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 975 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle-U-Lyme, Staffs, UK
  • Interests:Bikes, PA, Bass, Speakers and Amps.

Posted 22 January 2017 - 02:33 AM

View PostMornats, on 21 January 2017 - 10:54 PM, said:

I actually had better results going through the DI on my Markbass 121P into my interface (Focusrite Forte) than plugging direct into the Forte. I got a much cleaner, better balanced sound. You can always use an amp/cab emulator (Amplitube, Guitar Rig etc.) to get something like the cab sound if you wanted.

I wasn't going to chime in on that front but since it's been mentioned, I agree.. I use the DI on the V4 for probably 75% of the recordings I do and it works great. Using the compressor a bit harder than I do live yeilds the best results for me.

The amp (unlike its older and larger siblings) has a built in dummy load so can be operated without a speaker although it's a heavy DI box!
Trace Elliot V4 MKII Head..

SWR Goliath Jr III x 2..

Yamaha NE-1.

'01 Warwick Streamer LX5.

'06 Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Yamaha 02R x3 plus Allen & Heath ML5000

Aka 'Matt Sound' from the Rigger.

Live sound and Recording engineer. Msg or email me for details..

My Bikes..
'87 Yamaha FJ1200 1TX
'89 Yamaha FJ1200 3CV
'80 Honda CX500 A
'89 Honda VFR400 NC30

#12 spark

    No longer a newbie

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland

Posted 23 January 2017 - 09:26 PM

I use to record from the di output of my bass prodigy in one channel and form the bk7 ultra in another one.
I get decent results, I would love to mic my cab and get the valve sound but I cannot do it in my flat and I don't have any mic to do that.
I noticed when I recorded my bass without di, sound was pretty weak (I use passive basses).

#13 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 24 January 2017 - 12:38 PM

Well I got the Audient back. It's brilliant - no need for anything between the bass and the interface.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#14 rubis

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth

Posted 24 January 2017 - 02:15 PM

I've just upgraded to a laptop with an Audient ID14 too and the pre's are awesome
Great interface

#15 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 25 January 2017 - 12:36 PM

Nice one! I am very pleased with mine.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#16 Mornats

    Hyper elite member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,190 posts
  • Location:Bristol

Posted 25 January 2017 - 06:14 PM

What are the drivers and latency like on the Audients?

Edited by Mornats, 25 January 2017 - 06:14 PM.

  • Main bass: Squier modified VM Jazz: KiOgon wiring loom and Entwistle JBXN pickups
  • Main bass: Fender Standard Precision (MIM)
  • Other basses: SGC Nanyo Bass Collection SB320, Yamaha TRBX 504
  • MarkBass CMD 121P
  • Must... let... go: Ashdown 220 Touring 1x12 Combo with VS112 extension cab
Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/mornats.
Feedback: http://basschat.co.u...ck-for-mornats/

#17 Rubbersoul

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland
  • Interests:Bass, guitar, writing and recording music and songs. Everything else is pretty mundane.

Posted 26 January 2017 - 01:16 PM

Everything seems fine in that respect. Easy to set up, download updates from the Audient website and you're good to go. As for latency, I have it set at "minimum" and I am not experiencing any problems whatsoever. Running through Reaper and using VSTs in real time has not been a problem.
"I didn't mean to kill nobody ... I just meant to shoot the sonofabitch in the head. Him dying was between him and the Lord." RL Burnside.

"I won't waste my love on a nation" BRMC

My current band, a work in progress, Plague Doctors:

https://www.facebook.com/plaguedoctors.band/

#18 rubis

    Fully fledged member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth

Posted 27 January 2017 - 07:04 AM

Exactly as above
Recommended





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users