Why become a member? ×

Experience Why Is It Important When Hiring A New Band Member

blue

This might be a worthwhile discussion.

Anyone have any thoughts on why current relevant gigging experience should be important to a working band.

How can you screen out those who have embellished their resume.

We've all seen;

"30 years experience" or " I have years of playing under my belt" Those statements could mean anything.

This discussion is open to Originals Bands, Pub Bands, Bar Bands, Functions Bands, Pros whatever.

Ok, what are your thoughts?

Blue

I'll start.

It depends on what a band is looking for.

Here's an example, a national touring band, let's say they're headlining 250-500 seat venues.They are booked for 4 months, East coast,West coast and the Midwest. Then another month in Europe.They're looking for a bass player.

I'd be very hesitant to to audition as I have no touring experience.

Blue

Edited by blue

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1483407775' post='3206954']
I'll start.

Here's an example, a national touring band, let's say they're headlining 250-500 seat venues.They are booked for 4 months, East coast,West coast and the Midwest. Then another month in Europe.They're looking for a bass player.

Blue
[/quote]

However to get experience of auditioning as long as you're clear on your level of previous knowledge it may prove worthwhile.

Edited by Number6

[quote name='Cato' timestamp='1483421945' post='3206962']
I've gigged with kids who've only been playing for a year who are significantly better than others who have been playing for 20.

Experience is no guarantee of quality. IMO.
[/quote]

The 20 year old is better in what way?

And I'm certainly not going to take sides with 20 years of experience.

Playing for 20 years means nothing to me. It could mean 20 years of laziness, floating in and out of one band to another and generally being a pain in the arse.

Many of you are well aware of these types of "20 years experience" guys.