Why become a member? ×

Experience Why Is It Important When Hiring A New Band Member

blue

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1483407775' post='3206954']
I'll start.

It depends on what a band is looking for.

Here's an example, a national touring band, let's say they're headlining 250-500 seat venues.They are booked for 4 months, East coast,West coast and the Midwest. Then another month in Europe.They're looking for a bass player.

I'd be very hesitant to to audition as I have no touring experience.

Blue
[/quote]
A tour is just a number of gigs one after the other. You have a lot of gigging experience. Put yourself forward straight away as that is just the gig you have been looking for and they don't come along too often!

What people want for a tour is guys who can handle the gig (musically) and who they can live at close quarters with for a few weeks. It helps to be sociable, without being too sociable (ie. can't handle your booze). Having said that many bands want some one they can hang out and drink with. If I was you I wouldn't stress that you don't drink at all, rather that your not a drunk (unless of course they're on the wagon as well).

Edited by peteb

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1483407775' post='3206954']
I'd be very hesitant to to audition as I have no touring experience.[/quote]

Unless they particularly specify 'touring experience [u]essential[/u]' why not audition anyway? Just tip up with your bass(es) and whatever else they want you to bring.

* You make some contacts and meet some new people

* You meet some other bass-players and possibly get to talk about dep opportunities

* It's a nice day out doing something you like. Go and have a nice cup of tea afterwards and maybe feed the ducks.

Do it. G'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan g'wan.

[quote name='FinnDave' timestamp='1483433263' post='3207007']