Why become a member? ×

Record player set up query

Basszilla

Hi all,

I've bought a little set up for the house and being a complete vinyl newbie I'm struggling with the set up.

I bought a Project debut carbon espirit SB and a Cambridge audio CP1 preamp to partner it with.

I have a set of Adam A7 monitors and a tascam US1800 interface in the room.

How would I go about setting it up correctly with this gear? Any ideas?

Do I just skip the us1800 and go straight into the CP1 preamp and from there into the unbalanced RCA ins on my monitors? (Which would give me no primary master fader, just the individual volumes on both speakers), or is there a way to connect through the US1800 so that I can have one master volume?

Any help would be appreciated 👍

Edited by Basszilla

Hi.

Just looked at the manual for the speakers and there doesn't seem to be a gain / volume control. So you would need a stereo pre-amp.

The Tascam US1800 is not suitable for this.

Connect T/T to CP1. Then CP1 to pre-amp and then to the speakers.

You can use a pre-amp with either balanced or single ended connections. Balance would be better if the cable runs are long, however a pre-amp with balanced outputs will cost
significantly more and may not have single end to balanced capabilities.

If you connect the CP1 direct to the speakers you will be playing at full volume and are likely to cause damage.

Manual for the speakers is here. https://www.adam-audio.com/content/uploads/2016/12/adam-audio-user-manual-A7-en-de.pdf

If the US1800 has RCA ins and outs, then yes. But if you do that, aren't you digitising then reconverting the analog signal prior to the power amps? You'd also need a computer and the interface powered up when playing records, which seems a bit of a waste of energy too. If I were you I would spend a fairy tiny amount of money on a simple passive line stage - basically a decent pot and a pair of RCA inputs and outputs and use that between the CP1 and the Adams.