Why become a member? ×

Acrylic bodied bass

BrunoBass

I recently saw an acrylic bodied bass on eBay which caught my eye, mainly for an upcoming photoshoot we've got planned. It got me wondering how it might sound though... I'm no expert but I'd expect solid acrylic to be dense (and heavy) and I'd imagine it to sound bright. Anyone got experience of such weirdness?

[quote name='yorks5stringer' timestamp='1485356138' post='3223347']
Been some threads on these if you do a search. Heavy is an understatement, seem to remember Andy Travis may have had one, you could PM him?
[/quote]

I though there might have been, I searched for 'acrylic' but nothing relevant came up 😊

My old band used to quite regularly gig with a band whose guitarist had an acrylic/perspex BC Rich Mockingbird - it was heavier than any bass or guitar I've ever picked up but did sound decent enough, I'd even say it sounded exactly the same as his wooden one - though this was a metal band so a lot of the guitar tone was hidden behind distortion.

[quote name='Lw.' timestamp='1485360150' post='3223382']
My old band used to quite regularly gig with a band whose guitarist had an acrylic/perspex BC Rich Mockingbird - it was heavier than any bass or guitar I've ever picked up but did sound decent enough, I'd even say it sounded exactly the same as his wooden one - though this was a metal band so a lot of the guitar tone was hidden behind distortion.
[/quote]
Maybe he should've had a metal bodied one then?

[quote name='AndyTravis' timestamp='1485374761' post='3223514']
I had a p-bass

(Axl player series)

Changed everything out on it and had a fender neck on it.

Was about 14/15lbs.
[/quote]

I had one of those too. Kept it stock and it sounded brilliant. Really bright, really aggressive and looked amazing. Only downside was that mine weighed 9kgs.

[quote name='Jimryan' timestamp='1485377655' post='3223563']