Why become a member? ×

Fretless fingerboard coating and strings

bedfordborn

Hi all, I recently started playing again after a 37 year hiatus and have acquired, apart from a fretted EB3, a Fender Bass that has a Precision body and a lined fret-less Jazz neck, the rosewood fingerboard of which has a polyester finish, supposedly to permit the use of round wound strings. If this is the case, how long is this coating likely to last before chewing occurs? Would I be better off using flats, and if so what trade offs are there in using them as opposed to rounds?. Would there be a loss of sustain and effect on intonation? Loss of mwah?

Any help greatly appreciated, thank you, Dave.

Many moons ago, someone told me that you should treat a fretless fingerboard as a consumable - like a set of strings. They do wear out eventually, just like frets do but they can be sanded flat again a few times and in the extreme, most wooden basses can relatively easily have the fingerboard replaced.

As to your specific question, I have an Antoria Precision bass which I bought new in 1978. It has a lovely maple fingerboard which was gloss lacquered from new. Now it's never been the only bass for me but it was my only fretless for a while. The fingerboard held up well for years but I had to get it refinished about 4 years ago as the finish had worn through in several places. It's actually better now than it was new after the work and I imagine it will last as long as I will need it!

Roundwound strings will mark it more than flatwounds but that's the sound and feel I like and that beats any concerns about wear and tear - it's a musical instrument designed to be played so play it and have it maintained as required.