Why become a member? ×

Hello, from Oxford

HugoMack

Hi Everyone - and thanks for accepting me into BassChat.

I started out as a bass guitarist in a very heavy rock three-piece band "Medusa" back in the 70's, and since have played in show bands and function bands. I had several decades as a guitarist, singer and band leader, and returned to bass to play in a three-piece original-music reggae/ska band from Coventry.

After "losing" the brass, backing vocalist and keyboard player and deciding three-piece was the way to go, I've been experimenting with bass effects and midi synth to beef up our sound. As a guitarist I'm very experimental - and often play out using an Axe FX dsp.

Using the Axe FX with the bass wasn't ideal, and I didn't want to mess up my guitar set up. So I've developed a rig using Ableton Live with a Sonuus midi pickup on the bass, plus McMillen 12 Step foot keyboard and a Novation KeyLaunch; plus some stomp boxes.

I use Ampeg neodymion cabs: Pro Neo 4x10 and Pro Neo 15. I started with the Ampeg class D head. But on the first gig it cut out randomly for a couple of seconds. This turned out to be a common fault with no clear solution, so I replaced it with a Warwick LWA 1000. This has two channels: one for the dry bass, and the other for the synth if there's only a vocal PA. A really nice big sound.

However since adding a EHX Mini POG to the stomp boxes, I use the second channel for the wet effects signal. I've also got a Big Muff Bass, plus compressor, flanger and delay - but I'll probably remove the delay, or swap for a chorus.

Ableton allows me to play patches of all sorts - that can sound like a keyboard player, or huge bass synth stuff. If fills out the sound and can equate to keyboard chords. But more importantly, I can set the Sonuus pickup to need quite a high velocity before it triggers. I'm still experimenting, but this allows me to play bass passing notes and hammer the chord change notes.