Why become a member? ×

Finding a band.

Left Foot

Writing about this feels a bit awkward because finding a band to me is a bit like finding new friends, its definitely a social thing for me, so I'm basically recapping on how you've all made friends and how I should go about making new friends differently - even thought I don't feel I struggle at all socially.

I know a fair few musicians who are signed to indie labels but they don't have the time to join new projects ( they may just suspect that I'm not a serious musician because I don't have their status, fair enough ). There are some people I have jammed with but this falls down after a month or two because its either a case that I can't get a whole band set up together or the individuals end up being really flaky and I loose patience. The keen musicians I speak to at gigs and around are always enthusiastic, mainly because they've just seen a good show, but they fall into the above type of person. Its also annoying that whilst rock (and the sub genres) are supposedly inclusive, the people at these gigs seem soo clique and socially 'astute' that I kinda feel rejected in some way even though I know being in a band with faces who want to be seen more than heard would be awful.

I just cant get anything off the ground. I've not been playing in a band for about 8 months (haven't gigged in a band set up for well over 18 months) and I'm getting really fed up, really really fed up. GF says its not that I'm getting old, but the social circle that I used to know has thinned out and playing loud sh*t for fun has become a bit more obscure for people. Its making me feel crap thinking that being in a band just isn't really accessible to me. I live near London FFS, it should be easy!