Why become a member? ×

Ashdown: Where are the missing 200 watts

Phil Adams

An idle question of very little consequence really.
If Sir were to purchase an Ashdown RM C112T 500 Evo combo it claims to be rated at 500 watts.
If Sir were to purchase an Ashdown RM 112T Evo cab it claims to be rated at 300 watts, seemingly has the same white line speaker.
Who has the missing 200 watts, or shouldn't I ask....

It's an interesting one. The speaker is an 8 Ohm unit. The amplifier will output 507W RMS in to 4 ohms. Therefore, you will need two of those cabinets to get 507W from the amp. The rating they are giving is if the RM C112T was also connected to an extension cabinet.

[quote name='PaulGibsonBass' timestamp='1487983400' post='3244897']
I'm an intelligent, educated man. However I find this whole impedance / ohms thing utterly baffling. I'm new to the whole head / cab thing, surely there's a way I can get my head round it? I can't be that complicated?
[/quote]
Ohms go down, not up.
If you put 2 8 ohm speakers on an amp, it makes a 4 ohm load. Two 4 ohm speakers make a 2 ohm load.
If you put an 8 & a 4 ohm speaker on an amp, you then are adding a 4 ohm and putting @ another load on of 8 ohm, which brings the load to 2.66.
Most bass amps will go down to a 4 ohm load , but some go to 2 ohm.
The more load you put on the amp, the more power, the more power, the more watts at full volume, the more stress you're putting on the amp's electrical circuit.
Using more watts doesn't necessarily mean things are going to be louder, that part is down to the cab(s).

[quote name='PaulGibsonBass' timestamp='1487983400' post='3244897']
I'm an intelligent, educated man. However I find this whole impedance / ohms thing utterly baffling. I'm new to the whole head / cab thing, surely there's a way I can get my head round it? I can't be that complicated?
[/quote]

Try Google ing Ohm's Law. Wikipedia should explain it clearly for you.