Why become a member? ×

Ampeg power stage uprate / upgrade possibilities ?

I need a 1x15 combo for rockabilly upright bass.
I have access to a 90's Ampeg B-15T, the transistor version. Its 100 watts and fine for rehearsing, but not loud enough for live use and the speaker gets farty.
I'm considering buying a minimum 300 watts Trace / Ashdown or similar (I'd LOVE a Fender TV Bassman 1x15 !!) 1x15 combo or is spending the budget on a better, lighter more efficient 15'' driver and possibly maybe uprate the power stage to 300 / 400 or so watts.
I like the amp, the pre-amp sounds great with the upright thumping through it, D.I. is fine, looks cool etc etc but I just wondered if a bigger transformer could be fitted and a speaker to match ?
Any ideas, thoughts or opinions or am I peeing upriver even thinking about it ?

Edited by Wayne Firefly

Afraid you're peeing upriver with this one. I wouldn't attempt this on ANY amp (and I'm an electronic engineer!). Just too much to take into consideration. With the speaker farting out it may be what's holding you back and a more efficient cab would certainly help. I'd start there.

You obviously like the Ampeg sound, so if you decide to go for something louder then maybe one of their newer offerings, like the PF500. Saw one sell used locally for £170 quid last week.

A common problem with amplified uprights is that the sub-bass as you pluck the string is lower than the speaker can cope with, so it farts. Once you have got rid of that problem, you may find that your existing gear can be turned up to be loud enough.

If you search on 'Thumpinator' or 'FDeck' or 'high pass filter' you will find several options to filter out that low frequency content without strangling your sound (FDeck is the designer of one of them). Alternatively, I am based in Warrington, and would be happy to meet up so you can try my high pass filters (based on the FDeck design).

David

[quote name='Bigwan' timestamp='1488540868' post='3249781']