Why become a member? ×

Question about valve amp impedance outputs

Osiris

[size=4][font=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]I'm pondering the idea of getting an all valve amp, the only one I've ever had was when I started playing about 30 years ago, it was an old Park guitar amp and I really didn't know anything about them at that time, and if I'm honest, I still don't, having played through solid state and Class D ever since. But, happy as I am with Class D, this is an itch that I think it's about time to scratch….

My question is regarding the output from all valve (tubes as the cool kids and our brethren out in the colonies call them) amp outputs. Whereas the SS/Class D's that I've used seem to work on a minimum load i.e. 500 watts into 4 ohms, 300 watts into 8 ohms etc, it looks to me that some valve amps have dedicated impedance outputs i.e. an output for 8 ohms and a separate one for 4 ohms.

Do the same rules apply to the output i.e. if you have a 100 watt all valve amp and run it with an 8 ohm cab, are you only getting half (or thereabouts) of the power from the amp as you would with a Class D/SS amp? Would you get the full output running valve amps at 4 ohms? [/font][/size]

[quote name='bertbass' timestamp='1488558129' post='3250048']
Valve amps have an output transformer with various impedance taps, usually 16, 8 and 4 ohms. You set the impedance to match the cab(s). The full output is available in all impedances.
[/quote]

+1
Just to add to that for the OP, the impedance marked on the outputs or selector is the optimum load impedance for that tap, not a minimum as is common on solid state amps. It's generally best to stick to that as not all amps tolerate a mismatch equally well.

Edited by Beer of the Bass

[quote name='Beer of the Bass' timestamp='1488559026' post='3250060']
the impedance marked on the outputs or selector is the optimum load impedance for that tap, not a minimum as is common on solid state amps.