Why become a member? ×

Hello from Epping....

Phil C

Hello People

It seems only polite to do an intro, having just used the site to purchase a rather lovely CS PJ bass, and now to attempt to sell my USA Spector NS2.

So, I have been playing bass for around 35 years now - mostly rock music, but dep for a a few pop/function bands occasionally.

Bass history - I started on a Kay Precision copy which cost £50! I then upgraded to a Westone Thunder 1 A (which I remember costing just over £140)..... I later managed to get hold of an old Rickenbacker, which had a slightly twisted neck, and truss rods that could not be moved (someone had tried to adjust them with pliers!)..... That got traded in for a Status headless bass. In around 1989 I joined a great local group "The Workhouse" (www.theworkhouse.net) and ended up very good friends with the singer. We ended up building a recording studio together, and writing and recording our own songs. At the time of joining I had the old Rickenbacker bass, and then the Status. The Status was really difficult to record, as every buzz and rattle seemed to be amplified and in retrospect it was no good for a classic rock bass sound. Around 1992 ish we were recording a track at Odessa Wharf Studios, when our friend and producer (Gwyn Mathias) said "Phil - get a precision" - so being a good boy, I scoured Loot and found an add for a Precision Bass for £400. Long story short - I ended up with Allen Spenner's 1977 Precision, which has been my main bass up until recently. I used it without issue until a couple of years ago, when the pick ups started to sag. I took it to a Luthier, who told me that the bass was exactly the same as when it had left the factory (which was nice to hear)..... you can see an image of the bass on the Workhouse web site.