Why become a member? ×

How to achieve an action like this?

Greg.Bassman

Just watching this clip from Level 42’s ‘Guaranteed’ live... https://www.youtube....h?v=93VqyeUz8Z8

I’m amazed by how slinky and LOW his action appears here; it’s almost like there is NO distance between the strings and fingerboard atall! lol. What factors come into play when trying to achieve a set-up like this?

My thoughts so far:
I understand that Mark favours medium scale basses; typically with short scale basses, the reduced tension on the neck gives the strings a ‘floppy’ feel. Additionally, I know he favours lighter gauge strings (30-90 I think) which I imagine a better for bending. Maybe radius plays a part aswell. I believe his current Status KingBass has a 16” radius, so pretty flat (ideal for getting the strings nice and close to the fingerboard).

I'm not that technically proficient, so I wondered if any of the tech-heads on here could shed some light?
Cheers.

Edited by Greg.Bassman

You'd certainly need to start with a bass that's been designed to suit your style and built to perfection. Then, if your set-up skills are anything like mine, you'd need to hire the best bass-guitar tech you could find. Oh, and you seemingly string it with rubber bands :blink:

I've noticed similar in Rush videos. Geddy Lee's action seems to be ridiculously low, and yet he really digs in! When I try to set an action as low as that I get terrible fret buzz and choking... :(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWCVIb_ku_Y

Edited by Conan

[quote name='Conan' timestamp='1488901886' post='3252789']
I've noticed similar in Rush videos. Geddy Lee's action seems to be ridiculously low, and yet he really digs in! When I try to set an action as low as that I get terrible fret buzz and choking... :(

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWCVIb_ku_Y[/media]
[/quote]