Why become a member? ×

Little Mark III Fan Noise

Davebassics

There are posts on forums to do with this already but I am yet to find the answer I am looking for.

I practice quietly with little atmospheric noise. The Fan noise from my LMIII is loud enough to be annoying to me. I am a sound engineer so maybe I am a little more tuned to notice these sorts of things that normal. I have so far replaced the fan three times with three different models. The last one I tried was an identical fan to the original for real electronics (Mark bass's service representatives in the UK).

None of these solved the problem. So I am now just beginning to believe that it is normal to have this noticeable fan noise. I bought the amp second hand so have no experience of what it was like when it was new.

There are several reports on the internet that Mark bass fan noises are "quiet", "silent" etc. I was wondering if any LMII owners would be willing to measure fan noise from their amps to try and get a bit more of a objective reading on how loud the fan should be. We could do this using a SPL phone app maybe? Not the most fool proof way of getting a noise measurement but it would be better than nothing. Is anyone willing to give this a go?

Hopefully I'll be able to work out whether or not I am trying to fix a problem that doesn't exist before I start debugging the supply line to the fan!

I've 2 Markbass LM amps. A Tube 500 and a LMII. I don't use them for home practice as I've a TC Electronics BG250 1x15 combo for that.

I have set up my MB amps at home at low volume and the fan noise is a bit annoying. Personally I don't see it as a problem because I'm expecting them to operate out of their natural environment imo.

There're also the benefit that the TC amp has a aux in and a headphone out.

Horses for courses in my opinion.

Of course you may have a particular amp problem but if you've tried several fans it doesn't sound like it.

Peter