Why become a member? ×

A small combo for home use

AnthonyS

I'm new to Basschat and, returning to the bass after a 40 year gap (I had an SG copy I played when I was at school), I've asked for some help choosing an instrument on another board.

I'll also need an amp/speaker for use in my front room, something which I will be able to get a nice tone from at low-ish volume, so I'll be very grateful for any suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

Since 1 year I've had a TCE BG250-208. Small footprint, manageable weight, built in tuner and with the Toneprint loaded with Spectracomp everything I need in 1 package. But, there's lots of good, small amps out there, best listen to a few.

[quote name='MoonBassAlpha' timestamp='1489274695' post='3255741']
Budget?
Roland Bass Cube 30 are decent at home volume for not too much, especially 2nd hand.
[/quote]

+1 Yes a great amp and very good 2nd hand prices of late.

Another vote for the Roland microcube series. I have one of the smallest ones on loan from a mate after I repaired it for him (batteries had leaked) and I am amazed by the sound of it for such a small package. I want one even though I have no real use for it.

The best combination of power, portability and price I have come across is the Ibanez Promethean 3110: 300W with a 1 x 10 speaker, aux input and headphone out if you need to practice in "stealth mode", but also has enough clout to hold its own at full band rehearsals, particularly if connected to an extension cab. It can't compete with my 500W Markbass AC 121-lite combo for gigs, in terms of sound quality or power, but the Markbass combo is quite a step up in price. However, for practice at home with the flexibility to "grow" into use at full band rehearsals, the Promethean IMHO ticks all the boxes.

My practice setup is:

[b]Pignose[/b] for six string guitar. No effects or gimmicks, played clean it shows up your shortcomings on string bends, dodgy chords etc. If you sound good through a Pignose you are 'there'