Why become a member? ×

Amplification for Rock 'n' Roll Band

yorkshiremike

Hello guys,

I'm fairly new to playing double bass. I've played electric bass for 40 years but Db for just 12 months. I started off playing in bluegrass sessions. No problem in acoustic sessions.

I've played a 50s country revival show in theaters using a TC 2 x 8 combo again no problem.

I've now been asked to play in a 50s Rock 'n' Roll band. Playing the style isn't a problem, I don't slap.

I'm having a problem getting sufficient volume without feedback. I am using a shadow pickup.

Suggestions have included;
Taping up the f holes which we have tried but doesn't help too much.
Using an Eq box, I have a Behringer 6 band bass eq we haven't tried yet.

Another suggestion has been a compressor.

Any suggestions please, I've suggested that we turn down on stage, it was met by looks of disbelief.

Are you using a pre-amp between your pickup and the amp input?
Piezo pickups like the Shadow will work straight into the amp input, but the impedance mis match between the amp input (typically 0.5-1MOhm) and the impedance that the pickup works best with (~10MOhm) can result in a thin sound, which you then try to boost with some bass eq, which then makes you more prone to feedback.
More importantly, many preamps come with a high pass filter control - I find this essential in reducing the subsonic frequencies which are usually the main culprit in causing feedback.

Reverend,
Thank you for your suggestion. The shadow pickup has a battery volume and a tone contr4ol on it. I thought it might be active, I'll try using the bass eq box as I believe that has a pre amp in it.

TPJ
A mag pickup that's another area to look at. Have you any suggestions as to makes and placement? I believe that a lot of players mount them at the end of the fingerboard.

[quote name='yorkshiremike' timestamp='1489317212' post='3255927']
TPJ