Why become a member? ×

A Remark you Made

ericlemes

Hi all,

I'm absolutely new to this forum and just joined because a trade I made with a member (very successful one by the way). I'm an experienced non professional player and more or less play for fun on rock or jazz bands. Recently playing with some jazz jams, bands around Oxford and enjoying a lot.

Recently I bumped in a slightly problem with this tune. I've bought a Vintage fretless Jaco Pastorius tribute bass (I don't have that big demand for fretless, despite the jazz gigs) which technically has 20 or 21 frets (or fretlines, I don't have the bass here to confirm).

I found this tab here (http://www.bigbasstabs.com/weather_report_bass_tabs/a_remark_you_made.html) which seems more or less accurate and.... unfortunately I ran out of frets to play higher notes. And a whole tone bend at that position of the scale doesn't seem very possible for me.

Does anyone has an idea what exactly is used to play this tune? A different tuning or maybe a different bass?

Cheers,

Eric

[quote name='dlloyd' timestamp='1490106767' post='3262198']
He used an octave divider for some things... probably this.
[/quote]

I was looking for some videos, and most of the Octave/Octave divider effects only creates a lower octave. I'm not sure about this...

I thought the top note was an Eb?
Accessible on any 34" Fender, so no need for an Octave Pedal.

It's been a long time since I played this, but I don't seem to remember running out of frets or lines
on my Fender Jazz Bass.

Just been having a listen. Apart from the lovely playing from a Jaco,
I forgot what a terrific solo it was from Wayne Shorter. :)

It's funny how you miss things over the years. Just noticed the harmony line that
Jaco plays along with his Melody at 04:22. :)

http://youtu.be/boNCY0Ai44M

Hi Eric,