Why become a member? ×

Fretless over Fretted

BassApprentice

[quote name='Rothko' timestamp='1490362910' post='3264606']
I've long had a love/hate relationship with fretless bass. I can play one happily for a week, then suddenly want to chuck it out of the window, it sounds so whiney, out of tune, and generally hideous.

I dislike most fretless bass playing almost as much as my own - it can sound so lazy and flatulent. The best fretless playing just sounds like a bass - you shouldn't really be able to tell straight away whether it's fretless or not.

But I'd never want to be without one. It's a whole load of fun. It should just be very rarely allowed in public.
[/quote]
Sorry I don't get that.
I think I can almost always hear a fretless when it's being played in pop /rock music, Mick Karn, Pino, , Levin, It all stands out so wonderfully when they go fretless?

So I’m not an expert in any style of Bass playing but my solid bodied electric fretless is what I use for all my acoustic trio gigs. When I’ve switched to fretless for occasional songs in various pop/metal/rock bands before, the benefits have been outweighed by the faff in changing instruments and all the inconstancies that brings to the band sound. It’s certainly versatile though, I loved the sound of fretless on an original metalcore track we played (Lesson Learned) about 15 years ago :D . Damn shame I joined just after they recorded that EP with the guitarist playing the bass parts.

[quote name='ba55i5t' timestamp='1490702457' post='3267157']
I played fretless back in high school for the jazz band. Took it to a classic rock gig and got chastised for "bad intonation", even though it was a lined fretless.
[/quote]

You sure it wasn't the lead guitarist trying to shift the blame for his off-key string bends?