Why become a member? ×

Weird Audition

pbasspecial

I'm not a brilliant musician. I can learn to play a song and I can play a set list well but I can't improvise well. I've tried to learn but maybe at 40+ I started a bit late.

I had an audition. I asked for some sort of a set list so I could prepare myslf. I told the main man that I didn't do on the spot chord charts. The few songs that I'd even heard of (this guy played stuff from before even my time) turned out to be entirely different songs to the ones I'd learnt. We spoke on the phone several times and each time I stressed that I didn't do chord charts.

I really don't know why I bothered turning up. Chord chart followed chord chart and it became more and more embarrassing for me and the other band members. We went for a pint afterwards but I didn't even bother asking about the chances of me getting a slot in the band. I really didn't want that burden.

Sounds like there management skills are a little lacking, but surely if they are in there later years its not going to be a World Tour gig or the next big album. They are probably very relaxed, as they do this mainly for fun, and may have other things going on in there life that are more important. Also, as has been pointed out, semi pro bands mostly go for people who are a good fit personality wise, as long as they can play. Dont take it personally, its only rock and roll.

[quote name='mcnach' timestamp='1490315707' post='3264318']

We've never told people "there and then", because we want to have a chat among ourselves first.

But we always contact them within a day or so. If it's the right person, then why wait. If it's not the right person, why delay? Once you find someone who fits, that's it.
[/quote]
I wish that everyone took that approach, but it's unusual in my experience.

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1490319743' post='3264323']
I had to audition 3 times before I was offered the job as bass guitarist with my current band of 5 years.