Why become a member? ×

OK, this is a possibly weird question about gigging...

Telebass

[quote name='blue' timestamp='1500642705' post='3339328']
I have one of those tonight. I'll have fun and make the best of it, but I need the money for bills, every cent of it.

Blue
[/quote]

Yeh - I get that. My day job is in IT and (whether I like it or not) I'm a much better and more productive IT geek than I am a bass player. So, it's become a matter of personal "policy" that music will never become an income stream that I need to rely on. That's not always been the case for other people in bands I have played in and then "I don't want to do that gig" or "I'd rather go to a car show that weekend" makes me the bad guy...

[quote name='Dad3353' timestamp='1500633494' post='3339229']

...or enthusiastic..? I did the lights and trucking for the band our eldest was in for several years; never got (nor asked for...) a penny. Whilst I was fit enough, I loved it; it took my mind well away from my IT work, and they were great lads. Happy daze..! B)
[/quote]

The odd weekend maybe but five our six nights a week for less than minimum wage as a full time job? I'm sticking with daft :)

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1500651770' post='3339417']
The odd weekend maybe but five our six nights a week for less than minimum wage as a full time job? I'm sticking with daft :)
[/quote]

Yes, [i]very [/i]odd week-ends indeed. I couldn't have stood the pace for six nights a week; they were a [i]very [/i]strenuous bunch..! One would be daft to do it for [i]any [/i]wage, I'd say..! Judge for yourself...

http://youtu.be/_MWeuypvClc

[quote name='thepurpleblob' timestamp='1500647029' post='3339368']